Climatic's 55% Mucus-Clearance Claim Is a Sheep Result
Climatic's 55% mucus-clearance figure comes from an induced impairment model in sheep, not a human trial. Its published human evidence is a four-athlete uncontrolled case series, while a larger randomized study is registered but has posted no results.
Published · Updated
Climatic's headline efficacy figure for L Max does not describe what happened in human lungs. The company says one dose improved mucus clearance by 55%, but its footnote points to a Mount Sinai in vivo study with six subjects. The peer-reviewed paper behind that reference identifies those subjects as sheep whose mucus transport had first been impaired experimentally. The study provides a preclinical signal for the inhaled formulation, not evidence that L Max clears wildfire smoke from healthy people.
That distinction matters because Climatic is trying to establish daily lung care as a consumer wellness category. Its website calls L Max scientifically validated and clinically studied, while presenting the 55% figure beside human performance claims. Read separately, the supporting materials show three different evidence levels: laboratory and animal research, a small uncontrolled athlete case series, and a larger randomized human trial that has not reported results.
What the 55% figure measured
The animal experiment did not expose healthy sheep to wildfire smoke and then measure how much smoke L Max removed. Researchers administered an inhibitor of the cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator, an ion channel involved in airway hydration. The intervention reduced tracheal mucus velocity by about half. Four hours later, researchers delivered test formulations and tracked radiopaque particles moving through the trachea.
The final formulation, identified in the paper as Formulation 17 and then named L Max, restored part of that experimentally impaired mucus movement for eight hours. The powder was dissolved in saline and delivered by nebulizer. It was not administered through the handheld dry-powder device used by consumers. The paper describes the outcome as a rescue or restoration toward baseline, while Climatic's consumer page converts it into a 55% improvement in mucus clearance after one dose.
The denominator is not fully reconciled across the public materials. Climatic's footnote says the Mount Sinai study had six subjects. The paper says range-finding work used one sheep and final analysis used three, while the relevant figure reports groups of three to six across several formulations. The company does not disclose on the claim page which animals, time points or normalization calculation produced 55%. The result is directionally consistent with the paper, but its presentation removes material details needed to interpret the percentage.
The published safety work is also preclinical
The same AAPS PharmSciTech paper includes human bronchial cell cultures, but cell cultures are not human participants. Researchers tested prototype powders for effects on ciliary beating, bead movement, epithelial integrity and inflammatory signaling. Those experiments supported further formulation work, but they did not measure breathing, symptoms or pollutant clearance in people.
Repeated-dose safety was assessed in rats exposed for 28 days. The authors reported no product-related mortality or significant changes in body weight, clinical pathology, organ weight, respiratory function or central nervous system measures. Minimal increases in mucus-producing cells appeared in parts of the respiratory tract at the highest dose, including in some placebo animals, and were classified as an adaptive response to powder deposition.
The paper's stated 11.6-fold safety margin is a cross-species calculation, not an observed margin in consumers. It compares rat lung exposure with an assumed human dose after adjusting for lung weight. The authors explicitly say the long-term effects of enhanced lung cleansing cannot yet be determined and that the formulation needs human testing to establish its ultimate safety and efficacy. Climatic funded the work. Three authors disclosed shareholdings, consulting income or both from the company.
The available athlete results do not resolve efficacy
Climatic's evidence library links a 2026 exploratory case series involving four endurance athletes with reported breathing limitations. Participants recorded one baseline week, then used L Max twice daily for four weeks while continuing their training. There was no placebo group and no blinding. Three participants completed their time trial faster after four weeks, producing a mean improvement of 5.75% with a standard deviation of 8.42%.
Respiratory and recovery measures were inconsistent. Average peak expiratory flow rose 11.25%, but the standard deviation was 32.68%. One participant improved by 59.2%, while two recorded declines. Heart-rate variability increased for three participants during the first two weeks and fell for one. The paper's authors state that the sample was too small to conclude that L Max caused the performance changes. Training progression, expectation and ordinary variation remain plausible explanations.
Climatic's consumer page separately says 98% reported easier breathing during high-intensity workouts and 80% improved heart-rate variability, citing a five-week performance study with 13 athletes. A participant-level result of 98% cannot be calculated from 13 people because it does not correspond to a whole number of participants. It could refer to repeated survey responses or another denominator, but the page does not define it. The linked four-person case series does not report the 98% result, leaving the relationship between the two studies unresolved.
The decisive human study has no posted result
A registered randomized trial is better designed to answer the efficacy question. ClinicalTrials.gov lists a Climatic-sponsored study targeting 120 healthy adult athletes, with L Max compared against a lactose placebo under quadruple masking. Its outcomes include participant-reported breathing during higher-intensity exercise, spirometry and timed performance. The study began on January 19, 2026, and is listed as active but not recruiting.
No results were posted as of August 12, 2026, although the registry estimated primary completion in June. Until those data are disclosed, the supportable conclusion is narrower than Climatic's consumer presentation: L Max improved mucus transport in an induced sheep model, showed no adverse findings at tested exposures in a 28-day rat study, and produced mixed observations in four unblinded athletes. Whether it improves everyday lung clearance or breathing in people remains unverified.
Sources: Climatic · AAPS PharmSciTech · ClinicalTrials.gov